• 12 Neglinnaya Street, Moscow, 107016 Russia
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
What do you want to find?

200th Anniversary of the Discovery of Antarctica by Russian Seamen Faddey F. Bellingshausen and Michail P. Lazarev

Date of Issue
14/01/2020
Catalogue number
5111-0414
Date of Issue
14/01/2020
Catalogue number
5111-0414
Denomination
3 rubles
Quality
Proof
Metal, fineness
Silver 925/1000
Total weight, g
33,94 (±0,31)
Fine metal content not less than, g
31,10
Diameter, mm
39,00 (±0,30)
Thickness, mm
3,30 (±0,35)
Mintage, pcs
3000

Obverse

the mirror field of the disc bears a relief image of the National Coat of Arms of the Russian Federation, over it along the rim there is the semicircular inscription ‘РОССИЙСКАЯ ФЕДЕРАЦИЯ’ (RUSSIAN FEDERATION) framed on both sides by doubled rhombuses, below under the coat of arms there are indications of the precious metal and its fineness on the left and the fine metal content and the mint trade mark on the right, at the bottom in the centre, in three lines, there is an inscription ‘БАНК РОССИИ’ (BANK OF RUSSIA), the denomination of the coin ‘3 РУБЛЯ’ (3 RUBLES), and the year of issue ‘2020 г.’ (2020).

Reverse

the mirror field of the disc features relief images of sailing sloops and, at the bottom, a guiding star; a contour image of Antarctica and two penguins is located in the upper right part of the coin; the coloured finish imitates the aurora borealis; the inscription along the rim reads ‘200-ЛЕТИЕ ОТКРЫТИЯ АНТАРКТИДЫ’ (200th ANNIVERSARY OF THE DISCOVERY OF ANTARCTICA).

Authors

Designers: E.V. Kramskaya (obverse, reverse).
Sculptors: A.A. Dolgopolova (obverse), A.V. Gnidin (reverse).
Mint: Saint Petersburg Mint (СПМД).
Edge: 300 corrugations.

Discover more

On 28 January 1820, a Russian expedition led by Fabian Gottlieb von Bellingshausen and Mikhail Lazarev discovered Antarctica. It was on that day that the sloops Vostok and Mirny reached the land of the southern continent for the first time in history.

The first Russian Antarctic expedition is considered one of the most difficult in the history of navigation. During the 751-day expedition, the sailors, though navigating impassable ice fields, were able not only to establish the existence of the sixth continent, but also to discover 29 islands (Peter I Island, Alexander Land, etc.) and to gather unique scientific data.

Was this page useful?

• ул. Неглинная, 12, Москва, 107016
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
Что вы хотите найти?

200-летие открытия Антарктиды русскими мореплавателями Ф.Ф. Беллинсгаузеном и М.П. Лазаревым

Дата выпуска
14.01.2020
Каталожный номер
5111-0414
Дата выпуска
14.01.2020
Каталожный номер
5111-0414
Номинал
3 рубля
Качество
пруф
Металл, проба
серебро 925/1000
Масса общая, г
33,94 (±0,31)
Содержание химически чистого металла не менее, г
31,10
Диаметр, мм
39,00 (±0,30)
Толщина, мм
3,30 (±0,35)
Тираж, шт.
3 000

Аверс

на зеркальном поле диска – рельефное изображение Государственного герба Российской Федерации, над ним вдоль канта – надпись полукругом: "РОССИЙСКАЯ ФЕДЕРАЦИЯ", обрамленная с обеих сторон сдвоенными ромбами, внизу под гербом: слева – обозначения драгоценного металла и пробы сплава, справа – содержание химически чистого металла и товарный знак монетного двора, внизу в центре в три строки – надпись: "БАНК РОССИИ", номинал монеты: "3 РУБЛЯ", год выпуска: "2020 г.".

Реверс

на зеркальном поле диска – рельефные изображения парусных шлюпов и – в нижней части монетного поля – путеводной звезды; в верхней части справа – изображение контура Антарктиды с фигурками двух пингвинов; цветное покрытие поля монеты имитирует полярное сияние; вдоль канта – надпись: "200-ЛЕТИЕ ОТКРЫТИЯ АНТАРКТИДЫ".

Авторы

Художник: Е.В. Крамская (аверс, реверс).
Скульпторы: А.А. Долгополова (аверс), А.В. Гнидин (реверс).
Чеканка: Санкт-Петербургский монетный двор (СПМД).
Оформление гурта: 300 рифлений.

Историко-тематическая справка

Антарктида была открыта русской экспедицией под руководством мореплавателей Ф.Ф. Беллинсгаузена и М.П. Лазарева 28 января 1820 года. В этот день шлюпы «Восток» и «Мирный» первыми в истории достигли берегов южного материка.

Первая русская антарктическая экспедиция считается одной из самых сложных в истории мореплавания. В ходе экспедиции, длившейся 751 день, мореплаватели, окруженные непроходимыми льдами, не только установили факт существования шестого континента, но также открыли 29 островов (остров Петра I, Земля Александра I и др.) и собрали уникальные естественно-научные данные.

Страница была полезной?