• 12 Neglinnaya Street, Moscow, 107016 Russia
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
What do you want to find?

Financial Market Infrastructure

Financial market infrastructure means special institutions that support transactions involving financial assets, carry out control and settlement on such transactions, record and transfer rights to financial assets, as well as collect, store and provide the information necessary for the efficient functioning of the financial market.

Financial market infrastructure includes trade, payment, accounting and information institutions.

Trade infrastructure means the platforms where transactions with financial assets are conducted according to certain rules. Usually, it also includes a settlement infrastructure where the mutual obligations of traders are defined, which helps to effect settlements based on the results of trading. Settlement infrastructure also supports over-the-counter transactions.

Trade infrastructure includes exchanges and other organisers of trade in currencies, securities and derivative financial instruments.

Payment infrastructure is a high-technology system for faster funds transfers between market participants. Payment infrastructure includes commercial payment systems, the Bank of Russia payment system, and financial messaging systems.

An accounting system is the link between the issuer of securities and their holder. Today, most securities are dematerialised, that is, they exist only in the form of account records, and therefore specialised organisations that enter and maintain these records are needed. These organisations confirm holders’ rights to securities and transfer them to new buyers upon the holders’ orders. They are also responsible for assisting securities’ holders in the exercise of their rights (voting on shares, receiving income and payments on securities).

The following institutions are included in the accounting infrastructure:

Repositories collect and store data on repo agreements and derivatives contracts concluded over-the-counter (outside of exchanges).

Registrars maintain registers of holders of securities under an agreement with the issuer.

Depositories hold securities, act as intermediaries between issuers and investors, keep records of transactions with securities and of the transfers of rights to these securities.

Clearing houses are intermediaries between market participants which guarantee the fulfilment of their mutual obligations: they generate information on existing obligations and new transactions, securities netting following their delivery and settlement.

Information infrastructure provides various information and analytical services required by economic agents to efficiently conduct business and make investments on an informed basis.

The information infrastructure includes the following institutions.

Rating agencies analyse the activities of those economic entities that are interested in attracting market debt financing (ranging from real sector companies and banks to entire regions) and assign ratings to them. Credit ratings are an important means for investors, borrowers, issuers and the government to make informed investment and financial decisions.

Credit bureaus< store information on the loans granted to individuals and legal entities and the fulfilment of obligations thereunder. Based on these data, lenders analyse the level of borrowers’ debt load and their discipline.

Price centres provide market participants with services for determining the value of financial instruments not traded on exchanges. This helps the parties to a transaction to be sure that it is concluded on fair terms.

Administrators calculating financial indicators confirm the terms of transactions and the prices of instruments for transactions with financial instruments containing additional conditions, such as interest rate levels or foreign exchange rates.

Scientific and technological progress has made it possible to integrate the achievements of information technology and the financial market.

Financial infrastructure is expanding significantly owing to IT companies specialising in finance. For example, platform solutions for raising capital for investment projects and high-technology access points for financial products and services, as well as to technologies for their network distribution (crowdfunding platforms, marketplaces), are currently appearing.

All financial market participants are dependent on the smooth functioning and stability of the infrastructure, therefore, infrastructure institutions operate under special regulation and supervisory requirements, the implementation of which is monitored by the Bank of Russia.

Reliable and efficient infrastructure facilitates the preservation and strengthening of financial stability and the smooth operation of all financial institutions, and stimulates the development of the economy as a whole.

Department responsible for publication: Securities Market and Commodity Market Department
Was this page useful?
Last updated on: 24/03/2020

• ул. Неглинная, 12, Москва, 107016
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
Что вы хотите найти?

Инфраструктура финансового рынка

Инфраструктура финансового рынка — это специальные организации, которые обслуживают сделки с финансовыми активами, проводят контроль и расчеты по таким сделкам, учет и переход прав на финансовые активы, а также осуществляют сбор, хранение и предоставление информации, необходимой для эффективного функционирования финансового рынка.

Инфраструктура финансового рынка включает торговые, платежные, учетные и информационные институты.

Торговая инфраструктура — это площадки, на которых происходят сделки с финансовыми активами по определенным правилам. Обычно в нее входит и расчетная инфраструктура, в которой определяются взаимные обязательства участников торгов, что помогает проводить расчеты по итогам торгов. Расчетная инфраструктура также обслуживает и те сделки, которые заключаются вне организованных торгов.

К торговой инфраструктуре относятся биржи и иные организаторы торговли валютами, ценными бумагами и производными финансовыми инструментами.

Платежная инфраструктура представляет собой высокотехнологическую систему быстрого перевода денежных средств между экономическими субъектами. В платежную инфраструктуру входят коммерческие платежные системы, платежная система Банка России, системы передачи финансовых сообщений.

Учетная система является связующим звеном между эмитентом ценных бумаг и их владельцем.  В современном мире большинство ценных бумаг дематериализовано, они существуют только в виде записей по счетам, поэтому нужны специализированные организации, которые открывают и ведут эти записи. Эти организации подтверждают права владельца на ценные бумаги и по его распоряжению переводят ценные бумаги новому приобретателю. В их функции также входит содействие владельцу ценных бумаг в реализации прав по ним (голосовании по акциям, получении доходов и выплат по ценным бумагам).

К учетной инфраструктуре относятся следующие организации:

Репозитарии — собирают и хранят данные о заключенных не на организованных торгах (вне биржи) договорах репо и договорах с деривативами.

Регистраторы — ведут реестр владельцев ценных бумаг на основании договора с эмитентом.

Депозитарии — хранят ценные бумаги, выступают посредниками между эмитентами и инвесторами, ведут учет сделок с ценными бумагами и перехода прав на эти бумаги.  

Клиринговые организации — посредники между участниками рынка, которые гарантируют исполнение ими взаимных обязательств: они формируют информацию по имеющимся обязательствам и новым сделкам, их зачету при поставках ценных бумаг и расчетам по ним.

Информационная инфраструктура предоставляет различные информационные, аналитические сервисы, необходимые экономическим субъектам для эффективного ведения бизнеса и осуществления инвестиционных вложений на информированной основе.

В информационную инфраструктуру входят:

Рейтинговые агентства — анализируют деятельность тех субъектов экономики, которые заинтересованы в привлечении рыночного долгового финансирования (от компаний реального сектора и банков до целых регионов) и присваивают им рейтинг. Кредитные рейтинги служат инвесторам, заемщикам, эмитентам и государству важным средством для принятия обоснованных инвестиционных и финансовых решений.

Бюро кредитных историй  — хранят сведения о займах физических и юридических лиц и исполнении обязательств по ним. На основе этих данных кредиторы анализируют уровень долговой нагрузки заемщика и его дисциплину.

Ценовые центры — оказывают услуги по определению стоимости финансовых инструментов, не торгуемых на бирже, для участников рынка.  Это помогает сторонам сделки быть уверенными в том, что она заключена на справедливых условиях.

Администраторы, формирующие финансовые индикаторы — подтверждают условия сделки и цену инструмента для сделок с финансовыми инструментами, в которых есть дополнительные условия, например уровень процентных ставок или валютные курсы.

Научно-технический прогресс сделал возможной интеграцию достижений информационных технологий и финансового рынка.

Финансовая инфраструктура заметно расширяется за счет ИТ-компаний, специализирующихся в области финансов. Так, в настоящее время появляются платформенные решения для привлечения капитала в инвестиционные проекты и высокотехнологические точки доступа к финансовым продуктам и услугам, а также технологиям их сетевой дистрибуции (краудфандинговые платформы, маркетплейсы).

От бесперебойности и устойчивости инфраструктуры зависят все участники финансового рынка, поэтому к инфраструктурным организациям применяется специальное регулирование и надзорные требования, за исполнением которых следит Банк России.

Надежная и эффективная инфраструктура способствует сохранению и укреплению финансовой стабильности, бесперебойности работы всех финансовых институтов, стимулирует развитие экономики в целом.

Важные материалы

Развитие финансового рынка
Рынок ценных бумаг

Полезная информация

Ответственные структурные подразделения: Департамент инфраструктуры финансового рынка
Страница была полезной?
Последнее обновление страницы: 23.10.2020